Road Trippin’

22 Mar

Last weekend, I packed up the car, loaded up the kids, and set out for a little mini-adventure.  There is something so invigorating to me about taking a good old fashioned road trip.  I really can’t figure out why I enjoy them, but I do.  They can be a pretty painful experience during the process.  Somehow they always seem to leave behind at least a few fond memories and they are a nice little break from the daily routine.  Long drives with my family are much easier than they were a few years back.  I can’t even really say that it’s because the kids are older though. I think it has more to do with multiple devices with 3G access to keep them entertained.  Hey whatever works, right?

So several weeks back, when we received an invitation to attend a family event 5 hours away, I was all over it!  What a great excuse to pack up the kids, explore our part of the world, and visit with extended family.  Also, no complaints here about staying in a hotel for the weekend.  No bed making or laundry and eating out makes for a great weekend!

The key ingredient to making a quick road trip with a lot of mileage a success is making the drive part of the adventure.  I focused on doing exactly that.  The first part of our trip, I was solo with the kids and without my hubby.  He conveniently had to meet us at our destination via airplane because of work (poor guy).  Five hours in a car and 4 kids.  Could be the recipe for disaster.  Actually, I was pleasantly surprised . The kids were great (maybe they were just scared of my driving) and  I loved being in control of our stops and detours since I was the only driver.  We made a few little unique & interesting stops along the way and I let the kids eat crap I would never let them eat on a normal day.  The fact is that some of the places we stopped, the only foods that didn’t worry me about a potential e.coli infection were the chips, twinkles and candy bars.  The kids were thrilled when I insisted on only choosing snacks from those categories of foods, for safety reasons of course.  We saw alpacas at a gas station, wild sheep, and a pretty cool waterfall.  Who knew all these things were so close.

I need to remember the great parts of this little adventure.  The kids had a blast, I got a weekend off of chores, and we created some fun memories.  Next time I’m feeling the itch to get out of town (which is often for me), I think I will hit the road again.  It surely helped tame my travel itch, at least for a week or two.

Leave a Reply

